- What Is Actually Known About the CLSO Pass Rate
- Why the Number Is Not Published (and What That Means for You)
- Exam Format Facts That Shape Pass Probability
- Where Candidates Win or Lose: The Nine Weighted Domains
- The Screening Effect: Eligibility Filters Before You Sit
- Fee Mechanics and the Cost of a Failed Attempt
- How to Vet Pass-Rate Claims You Find Online
- Sequencing Your Prep Around the Domain Weights
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Board of Laser Safety has not publicly disclosed an official CLSO pass rate or passing score that we could verify.
- The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, five answer choices each, and a 3-hour time allowance per the BLS 2019 guide.
- Laser Control Measures (17%), Hazard Evaluation & Classification (15%) and Regulations and Standards (14%) together carry 46% of content.
- A first attempt costs $325; a retake is indexed at $125, so a failed attempt is cheaper to repeat than to sit first.
What Is Actually Known About the CLSO Pass Rate
Candidates searching for a Certified Laser Safety Officer pass rate usually want one thing: a percentage that tells them whether to worry. The honest answer is that no verified, official percentage is publicly available. The Board of Laser Safety (BLS), the body behind the Certified Laser Safety Officer credential, does not publish a pass rate that we could confirm, and it does not publicly disclose the official passing score either. Several of the board's own pages are only accessible as indexed extracts, so anything in this article about current policy should be reconfirmed on the board's site before you commit money.
That may feel unsatisfying, but it is more useful to know exactly what is and is not known than to chase a number that cannot be traced to a source. This article lays out the facts that are documented, explains how they bear on your odds, and shows how to build a preparation plan that does not depend on a pass-rate statistic at all. If you want the difficulty side of the same question, see our companion piece, How Hard Is the CLSO Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026, and for the score question specifically, CLSO Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
Why the Number Is Not Published (and What That Means for You)
Credentialing bodies handle outcome data in different ways. Some publish annual pass rates; others treat them as internal psychometric data. The BLS falls into the second category as far as we can verify. There are a few practical consequences of that for you as a candidate.
- You cannot benchmark yourself against a public figure. Any "average" you read is a secondhand claim, not a board statistic.
- The scored/unscored split is undisclosed. Of the 100 questions, the board's materials do not specify how many count toward your result, so you cannot reverse-engineer a margin for error.
- Preparation quality matters more than population statistics. A pass rate describes a group of past candidates with varied backgrounds. Your individual outcome depends on your own mastery of the nine domains.
Even if a rate were published, it would be a blended figure across candidates with very different experience: seasoned laser safety officers who have run programs for years and newer entrants who just completed accepted LSO training. Neither group's number would predict your result well. The better question is not "what fraction pass?" but "am I consistently answering domain-level questions correctly under timed conditions?" Our CLSO Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt is built around that question.
Exam Format Facts That Shape Pass Probability
While the outcome statistics are opaque, the exam's structure is documented in the BLS-authored 2019 guide. These mechanics are the real inputs to your pass probability.
| Feature | What the Documentation Shows |
|---|---|
| Question count | 100 multiple-choice questions |
| Answer choices | Five per question |
| Time allowance | 3 hours (per the 2019 BLS guide) |
| Scored vs. unscored items | Split undisclosed |
| Calculator | Scientific, non-programmable calculator permitted; no equation sheet provided |
| Open-book status | Not verified; confirm before test day |
| Official passing score | Not publicly disclosed |
| Official pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
What the five-choice format means
Five answer options lower the payoff from blind guessing compared with a four-option exam. A random guess has a one-in-five chance of landing, so guessing strategy alone will not rescue an underprepared candidate. The format rewards the ability to eliminate distractors, which in laser safety usually means spotting an answer that violates a control hierarchy, misapplies a classification rule, or uses the wrong unit for an exposure limit.
The calculator-without-equation-sheet detail
The guide permits a scientific, non-programmable calculator but provides no equation sheet. That combination is a meaningful clue about difficulty: you are expected to know the working relationships cold, not look them up. Expect to need fluency with beam irradiance and radiant exposure arithmetic, unit conversions, and the logic of applying exposure limits to a stated scenario. The calculation-heavy material sits mainly in the Maximum Permissible Exposures, Hazard Evaluation & Classification, and Laser Measurements domains, so practice those with a calculator in your hand rather than just reading worked examples.
Key Takeaway
Because there is no equation sheet, memorization of core relationships and unit handling is a prerequisite, not a bonus. Drill the arithmetic until setting up a beam calculation takes seconds, not minutes, since you have roughly 1.8 minutes per question on average.
Where Candidates Win or Lose: The Nine Weighted Domains
The 2019 guide organizes the exam into nine weighted areas. Understanding the weights is the closest thing to "pass-rate intelligence" that exists, because it tells you where the points are. The full breakdown is covered in CLSO Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 9 Content Areas; here is how the weights bear on your odds.
| Domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| Laser Control Measures | 17% |
| Hazard Evaluation & Classification | 15% |
| Regulations and Standards | 14% |
| Lasers & Optics Fundamentals | 11% |
| Laser/Optical Radiation Bioeffects | 11% |
| Maximum Permissible Exposures (MPE) | 11% |
| Laser Safety Program Administration | 10% |
| Non-beam Hazards Associated with Lasers | 8% |
| Laser Measurements | 3% |
The top three: 46% of the exam
Laser Control Measures (17%), Hazard Evaluation & Classification (15%) and Regulations and Standards (14%) add up to 46% of content. A candidate who is strong across these three has built nearly half the exam's foundation before touching anything else.
- Laser Control Measures: engineering, administrative and personal protective controls, and when each is appropriate for a given hazard scenario.
- Hazard Evaluation & Classification: assigning classes, reasoning about nominal hazard zones, and evaluating real setups.
- Regulations and Standards: the consensus-standard framework. Official indexed application content references ANSI Z136.1-2014, and no verified 2026 revision is confirmed, so know exactly which edition your study materials describe.
The small domain trap
Laser Measurements is only 3% of the exam, which tempts candidates to skip it. That is a reasonable triage decision only if you are already solid elsewhere. Because measurement concepts feed into hazard evaluation and MPE reasoning, shallow knowledge there can quietly cost points in the larger domains too. Give it light but real coverage rather than ignoring it.
Mid-weight domains deserve respect
Lasers & Optics Fundamentals, Bioeffects and MPE each carry 11%, together 33%. These are the conceptual backbone: how beams propagate, how tissue responds to different wavelengths, and how exposure limits are derived and applied. Candidates from non-technical backgrounds often find this trio the steepest climb, while engineers sometimes underestimate the bioeffects material. Knowing which side of that divide you sit on is the single best predictor of where to spend your hours.
The Screening Effect: Eligibility Filters Before You Sit
One reason raw pass rates are hard to interpret for this credential is that you cannot simply walk in and test. The documented eligibility framework includes an education and experience pathway, at least one year of LSO duties, accepted LSO training, and two references. Details such as the exact experience required on the high-school route and any fixed training-hour threshold are unverified, so confirm them directly. Our guide to CLSO Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify walks through the pathway.
This matters for pass-rate thinking because it means the candidate pool is pre-screened. People who reach exam day have already worked in laser safety, completed training, and secured references. A pool like that is typically better prepared than the general public sitting an open-enrollment test, which is one more reason a borrowed percentage from a different credential tells you nothing about this one.
Fee Mechanics and the Cost of a Failed Attempt
Pass-rate anxiety is partly financial, so here are the indexed figures from the board's fee schedule. A member differential and any separate application charge are not verified, so check the current schedule before paying anything.
| Item | Indexed Fee |
|---|---|
| Examination | $325 |
| Retake | $125 |
| Rescheduling | $55 |
| Certification renewal (every three years) | $165 |
| Late renewal | $55 |
The indexed retake fee is well below the first-attempt fee, so a miss costs less than the original sitting, which softens the downside of a first-attempt stumble. Still, the smartest financial move is to avoid needing the retake, and equally to avoid rescheduling fees by choosing your test date only when your practice results are stable. Maintenance runs on a three-year cycle: you earn 10 certification maintenance points or retake the exam route. For a full cost picture see CLSO Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and for scheduling logistics, CLSO Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Home testing is advertised as an option, but the current mode-specific rules were not accessible to us. If you plan to test remotely, verify the environment, identification and equipment requirements, and confirm whether your calculator is allowed in that mode, before exam day.
How to Vet Pass-Rate Claims You Find Online
Because the official number is not public, forums, social posts and even some prep vendors fill the vacuum with confident-sounding percentages. A few checks will keep you from being misled.
- Check which credential is being discussed. The acronym is shared by several unrelated credentials. A statistic about a different certification says nothing about the Certified Laser Safety Officer exam administered by the Board of Laser Safety.
- Look for a primary source. A real statistic should trace to a BLS publication or statement. If it cites "someone told me" or an undated screenshot, discard it.
- Be wary of precision. A claim like "exactly 71.4% pass" with no source is a red flag when the board does not publish outcome data.
- Distinguish anecdote from data. One candidate's experience, positive or negative, reflects their preparation and background, not a population rate.
Our own policy on this site is simple: we do not state a pass rate we cannot source. If you want a grounded view of how demanding the test is without a statistic, read the difficulty guide above and the one-page CLSO Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts.
Sequencing Your Prep Around the Domain Weights
Since no pass-rate figure can tell you how much to prepare, let the exam's own structure set your schedule. The following timeline ties each week to specific CLSO content and explains the ordering logic. Adjust the pacing to your own background and treat it as a sequence, not a fixed duration.
Foundations: Optics and Bioeffects
- Cover Lasers & Optics Fundamentals and Laser/Optical Radiation Bioeffects first, since later domains assume this vocabulary.
- Note which wavelengths affect which ocular and skin structures.
Exposure Limits and Measurements
- Work Maximum Permissible Exposures problems with a scientific calculator and no equation sheet.
- Add a light pass through Laser Measurements (3%).
The Heavy Hitters
- Spend the most time on Laser Control Measures (17%) and Hazard Evaluation & Classification (15%).
- Practice scenario questions where you must choose the most appropriate control.
Standards, Program and Non-beam Hazards
- Cover Regulations and Standards (14%), Laser Safety Program Administration (10%) and Non-beam Hazards (8%).
- Confirm which edition of the consensus standard your references describe.
Timed Mixed Practice
- Take full 100-question timed sets to rehearse the 3-hour pacing.
- Review misses by domain and loop back to the weakest areas.
Foundations come first because the conceptual domains feed the calculation and judgment domains. The 46% top-three block gets dedicated time in the middle of the plan, when you have enough vocabulary to reason through scenarios. You can run timed sets in our CLSO practice test environment, and our full question bank lets you filter by domain so you can see exactly which of the nine areas is dragging down your score.
Key Takeaway
Do not wait for a pass-rate statistic to tell you whether you are ready. Use domain-level practice results instead: when you are consistently strong in the top three domains and no domain is a glaring outlier, you are in a defensible position to book the exam. For the earning side of that decision, see CLSO Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis and Is the CLSO Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.
Frequently Asked Questions
An official pass rate for the Certified Laser Safety Officer exam has not been publicly disclosed by the Board of Laser Safety in any source we could verify. Be cautious of any specific percentage that does not cite a board publication.
The official passing score is not publicly verified. The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, and the scored/unscored split is undisclosed, so you cannot assume a simple percentage cutoff. See our passing score guide and confirm with the board.
The BLS-authored 2019 guide describes 100 multiple-choice questions with five answer choices each and a 3-hour time allowance. Confirm current details with the board before you test.
Laser Control Measures (17%), Hazard Evaluation & Classification (15%) and Regulations and Standards (14%) are the three largest, together 46% of the exam. Strong performance there matters most, though weak scores in the other six areas can still sink an attempt.
The indexed retake fee is $125, compared with $325 for the initial examination, and rescheduling is indexed at $55. Verify current amounts on the board's fee page, since some pages were accessible only as indexed extracts.